PInnacle Awards logo

Thirty top industry veterans who have set new standards, driven change and inspired others have been named to the inaugural class of McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards winners, organizers announced Monday.

Among the honorees are veteran long-term care operators, caregivers and affiliated professionals who have had lengthy careers performing at the highest levels in senior living, skilled nursing or home care.

The McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards recognize industry veterans with at least 20 years of experience in their chosen field. The program is a joint effort of McKnight’s Long-Term Care News and sister media brands McKnight’s Senior Living and McKnight’s Home Care.

Winners will be honored at a March 7, 2023, gala awards ceremony and dinner in Chicago that is open to all friends, family, colleagues and supporters. Coverage of the industry’s most vaunted independent awards program will appear both online and in print.

“Each of these dedicated, successful veterans has spent many years showing the field — and those watching it — how great professionals get the job done,” said McKnight’s Vice President and Editorial Director John O’Connor. “For more than two decades, each has continued to perform at the top of their game, which is an inspiration to all. We are truly fortunate to walk and work among them.”

Honorees are recognized in six categories. Winners were chosen by an independent panel of skilled nursing, senior living and home care leaders, who assessed nominees across four major criteria groupings.

Please check the program website at for a gallery of winners and more information about the McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards, including details about the awards ceremony and dinner.

The 2023 McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards winners are:

Agent of Change Award

Mary Leary, CEO, President, Mather

Carol Odnoha, Director of the Nurse-Family Partnership, VNS Health

Carl Tabor, President, Avamere

J. Benjamin “Ben” Unkle, CEO and President, Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay

Industry Ally Award

Vincent “Vince” Mor, PhD, Professor of Health Services, Policy & Practice/Florence Pirce Grant University Professor, Brown University School of Public Health

Mark Parkinson, CEO/President, American Health Care Association/National Center for Assisted Living

Robyn I. Stone, DrPH, MPA, Senior Vice President for Research, LeadingAge/Co-Director, LeadingAge LTSS Center @UMass Boston

Inspiration Award

Kristin Bolos, Director of Workforce Development, EmpRes Healthcare Management

Evangeline Powell, Vice President of Clinical Services, Rockwell Healthcare

Daniel Reingold, CEO/President, RiverSpring Living

Dana Ullom-Vucelich, Chief Human Resources Officer, Ohio Living

Setting the Standard Award

Jennifer Brullo, Senior Vice President of Patient Care Services, VNS Health

Carole Considine, Executive Director, Harvester Place Memory Care

Phil Cyr, Administrator, Caribou Rehab and Nursing Center

Rita Mabli, CEO/President, United Hebrew of New Rochelle

Betsy Mullen, Chief Operating Officer, Legacy Lifecare

Thought Leader Award

Chris Belford, CEO, Sinceri Senior Living

Michelle Cone, Senior Vice President of Training and Brand Programs, HomeWell Franchising

Laurence Gumina, CEO, Ohio Living

Lynne Katzmann, CEO/Founder, Juniper Communities

Unsung Hero Award

Katie Campbell, Director of Social Services, Majestic Care

Barry Carr, Chairman/Co-founder, Ignite Medical Resorts

Yvonne Eaddy, Vice President of Regional Patient Care Services, VNS Health

Gloria Lopez, Registered Nurse Manager, Sierra View Medical Center

Business Partner Award

Kristy Brown, Director of SNF Financial Services, Quality Healthcare Resources

John “Jack” Dwyer, Owner/Chairman of the Board, Capital Funding Group

Leah Klusch, Executive Director, Alliance Training Center

Angela Olea, Founder and Brand President, Assisted Living Locators

Denise Robertson, Chief Operating Officer, Northern Iowa Therapy

Scott Thurman, Head of Production/FHA Healthcare, Greystone & Co.