U.S. House forms long-term care caucus

Share this content:

The House of Representatives has formed a caucus dedicated to improving the access, quality and affordability of long-term care.

Four representatives are chairing the House Long Term Care Caucus. They are: Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Earl Pomeroy (D-ND), Nancy Johnson (R-CT) and Tom Allen (D-ME). They are actively recruiting others to take part.

In a letter dated May 15, the representatives cited the growing costs of nursing home care and the financial impact on Medicaid and state budgets. They said they plan to work with experts in the field to educate colleagues and build support for policies that expand consumer choice and reduce the financial burden of long-term care.