A professional dance company is offering weekly live Dancing Through Parkinson’s classes.

The sessions are hosted by Invertigo Dance Theatre over Zoom on Thursdays at 1:30 PT/3:30 CT/4:30 ET.

For the past nine years, the company has offered the classes by donation at its studios throughout Southern California. The classes mirror the experience and progression of a professional dance class with movement executed from wheelchairs, walkers, chairs, or while standing. The curriculum is designed specifically to meet the needs of people with Parkinson’s disease from newly diagnosed to late stages. The series is equally beneficial for aging populations and anyone with a different neurological diagnosis.

No dance experience is required to take part in the online or live classes. DTP participants move at their own pace, and every section of the class is designed with seated modifications for those who need to remain seated or who would like to take a break from standing. Classes are open to everyone; family and caregivers are also encouraged to participate.

“Our dance classes invite people with Parkinson’s and those with limited mobility into movement as a source of joy, strength and discovery,” said K. Bradford, creative engagement director. “Our participants tell us they find healing and a sense of belonging in the DTP community, and that the classes foster a greater well-being in what can be an isolating time.”

Each class begins with a seated warm-up that incorporates breath work, upper body stretches and joint mobility. Participants perform seated choreography, tap work and muscular brain teasers. Classes then progress into a modified ballet barre segment — either standing with a chair or sitting — and through standing or seated center traveling steps.

Visit invertigodance.org/dancing-through-parkinsons to view a video from an earlier class and for more information.