Medicaid commission will have one LTC member

Share this content:

Health and Human Services Secretary Michael Leavitt last week named members for the controversial Medicaid Commission. Participants will include non-voting member Douglas Struyk, who is president and CEO of a long-term care facility.

Leavitt appointed former Tennessee Governor Don Sundquist as chair of the commission. Former Maine Governor Angus King will be vice-chair. He named 15 non-voting members and 13 voting members, including "health policy leaders from both sides of the aisle." He is holding open two voting spots for current governors so that they may join after Sept. 1, when the commission focuses on the long-term goal of Medicaid reform.

The committee has come under fire in recent weeks from large groups, including Democrats and governors. They complained that the Bush administration's decision to name all voting members ensured a rubber-stamp committee. Some also disagreed with the commission's immediate task of presenting a plan to cut $10 billion from Medicaid over five years by this September.