Daily Editors' Notes

It's time to screw up that courage and take the plunge

Share this article:
John O'Connor
John O'Connor

I'll never forget my first encounter with the high diving board at Sherman Park pool.

I was 9 at the time. I had already spent a good chunk of the summer enviously watching the bigger kids dive, cannon ball and sometimes belly flop off the board, which seemed to almost touch the sky.

After finally screwing up enough courage to give it a try, I felt as if my wobbly legs might not lift me up the ladder attached to the three-meter board. When I finally did reach the summit, the water below looked like it was a mile away. My first impulse was to bid a quick retreat. Fortunately, as it turned out, others behind me were already climbing up the ladder. So the descent of shame was no longer an option.

At that point, I did what any terrified kid would do. I jumped and hoped to survive. Turns out it was an absolute blast, and I got back in line almost as soon as I could climb out of the pool.

Now I'm not recommending that you stop what you're doing and take a leap off a high place. But I am asking you do something that might make you feel a bit uncomfortable at first: enter this year's McKnight's Technology Awards contest.

This one-of-a-kind event recognizes providers who are harnessing technology to improve eldercare. TENA is the exclusive sponsor.

Starting today, the third annual McKnight's Excellence In Technology Awards program is officially underway.

Simply put, there's no better way for your organization to get the recognition it deserves for technology-related efforts.

We invite you to submit your best work for this prestigious contest. And if you entered before and didn't win, please submit again. Maybe this time will be the charm!

An independent panel will ensure that your submissions are judged fairly and impartially, and with the authority and respect they deserve. But the only way to get your hands on an award is to impress the judges with the quality of your organization's work.

There are five categories: “Quality Through Technology Award,” “Dignity Through Technology Award,” “High Tech/High Touch Award,” “Innovator of the Year Award” and the “Transitions Award.” We'll write about the winners in a big spread.

You can click here for more information on entering:

Entry forms are due July 12, so don't delay.

Yes, the prospect of entering the contest may be a bit scary. But it just might turn out to be a lot more fun than you imagined.

John O'Connor is McKnight's Editorial Director.

Share this article:

Next Article in Daily Editors' Notes

Daily Editors' Notes

McKnight's Daily Editor's Notes features commentary on the latest in long-term care news. Entries are written by Editorial Director John O'Connor on Monday and Friday; Staff Writer Tim Mullaney on Tuesday, Editor James M. Berklan on Wednesday and Senior Editor Elizabeth Newman on Thursday.


    More in Daily Editors' Notes

    The nursing home survey system is about to get a much closer look

    The nursing home survey system is about to ...

    You had to know this was coming. Earlier this week, the New York Times reported that many nursing homes are submitting massaged staffing and quality indicator data to the feds. ...

    Ice buckets, fund-raising and long-term care

    Ice buckets, fund-raising and long-term care

    Whoever dreamed up the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge should be given a medal — and immediately hired to speak at the next long-term care association conference. Such creativity and that ...

    Benefiting from a selection tool for EHRs

    Benefiting from a selection tool for EHRs

    There are many parts of attending annual big conferences that I love, from seeing old industry friends to attending good sessions. But I also, not so secretly, love the exhibit ...